Minutes of Somersworth Veterans Park Commission Meeting City Hall Council Chamber Monday, January 14, 2019

Committee Members present: Martin Dumont, Chairman	
-	Richard Michaud, Vice Chairman
	Cathy Burns
	Eric Mommsen
	Richard A. Gagnon
	Bill Wenners
	Raymond Doyon
	Paul Spendley
	Brian McKay
	Jenne Holmes
	Claudette Bayko
Administration present:	Bob Belmore, City Manager
	Dana Hilliard, Mayor
	Mike Bobinsky, Director of Public Works
Excused absent:	Doreen Cole
	John Gregoire

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Dumont at 3:58pm. Motion to accept the minutes of the last minutes as written and reviewed was made by Vice Chairman Richard Michaud, seconded by Jenne Holmes, motion passed unanimously by hand vote.

Chairman Dumont introduced Mr. Jeff Hyland and Jen Martel of Ironwood Design Group for workshop presentation of their findings & drawings of the topography of Stein Park and discussion of details, visualization, and a round table discussion of an evolving plan for Somersworth's Veterans Park within Stein Park. All members were encouraged to give input and share their ideas. Included in the discussions among those present: purpose of the park, celebratory space or solemn to honor veterans, monuments? How many? Technology kiosk, meandering walkway, with purchased memorial bricks, audio tours, bring things to life through stories of our veterans, celebrate, honor, educate. Mayor Hilliard reminded the committee that our charge is to build a Veterans Park.

In conclusion Ironwood Design Group taking all the ideas presented will bring back to this committee within one month, a refined design with alternate sub. options to be fine tuned and then final concept presented to a City Council Workshop as an efficient plan with the best possible solution. Chairman Dumont thanked Jeff Hyland and Jen Martel for their presentation and workshop. Motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Paul Spendley, seconded by Brian McKay; meeting was adjourned at 5:33pm.

Chairman Dumont will set the next meeting and notify the committee by email.

Respectfully submitted,

Claudette Bayko, Committee member